A slight hiccup

Well it’s been a crazy week!! Firstly, last week I decided I was going to run a 5k race with some friends from work.  The race is Mother’s day weekend running for Ovarian Cancer.  It will be our first race in preparation for the 10k race that we are planning on doing September 22, 2012 at the Toronto Zoo.

So I was pretty pumped about our plans to start running and was looking forward to finally getting into a solid program.  Saturday, March 17, 2012, I had an accident.  I had made a bottle for my son Owen and my husband Dave was upstairs changing him because we were going to enjoy a nice drink on our deck while he went down for a nap.  Just as I lifted my right foot off the hardwood to go up the stairs, I completely slipped right off the hardwood and banged my wrist on the stairs.  I immediately screamed and thought I was going to be sick and pass out from the pain.  I was not able to move my arm at all and knew something was wrong.  Well I was right…the x-ray confirmed I broke the bone in my wrist, I am now in a cast for 6 weeks.  I’ve had to put my running on hold for a bit because the doctor doesn’t want the bone to shift because it’s in a good place right now and if it moves I could end up having surgery.  He says he wants me to put the running on hold for 2 weeks.

I finally had a good solid plan and then this happens! I was so upset and I even just signed back up with Goodlife and I definitely won’t be doing any weightlifting now for atleast 6 weeks 😦

We are still aiming to do the 5k race for May and if I have to walk it…I have to walk it.  My plan is to start running in April assuming I get the ok from the doctor and that will still give me a good 6 weeks of training.

My next visit with the doctor is Wednesday, so i’m praying for good news. Wish me luck:)

~ by natashabruce on March 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
